REFLECTION: New Camera, August 2011

One nice day in the summer of 2011, I made a purchase that I had wanted to make for many, many years.

I finally decided that I could afford to buy myself a good camera.  I didn’t go crazy.  I didn’t spend a lot of money, but I spent more than I felt I could in the past.  I found a good deal at Costco and bought a Canon EOS Rebel T2i.  The kit included the camera body, a Canon 18-55mm zoom lens, a Canon 55-250mm zoom lens, a SanDisk 4GB Class 4 SDHC Flash Memory Card, and a Canon camera bag.

Since I had to charge the battery, I wasn’t able to play with my new toy right away.  I eagerly flipped through the user manual while I waited.  By the time the battery was charged, it was well into the night and I needed to attempt to sleep.

The next, I went a little nuts (the fun kind, not the psychotic kind).  I ran all over the yard, adjusting and readjusting the settings on the camera, swapping lenses back and forth, and shooting photos of flowers, plants, the dog, the cat, the trees, everything.  This is one of my best images from that first day:

IMG_0084_v2_Watermark

Now, I’m aware that this isn’t the most amazing photo ever.  It definitely needs improvement.  But for me, this was an impressive accomplishment.  I wasn’t the best photographer (and I’m still not), but I think I was decent in the beginning.

Over time, I got better.  My technical skill with the camera improved.  I learned different techniques and processes in Adobe Photoshop to manipulate my images.  With a few minor adjustments, I’ve made one of my very first images even more striking:

IMG_0084_v3_Watermark

It’s still not the best photo in the world, but I’m rather partial to it.  What do you think?

5 thoughts on “REFLECTION: New Camera, August 2011

  1. I think its awesome! I have always wanted to learn to do photography and learn how to take pictures of things properly. Keep it up. Keep taking pictures you did an excellent job!

    Like

Share your thoughts!

