ON THE ITINERARY: Gullfoss, Iceland

I come across so many photos of beautiful and jaw-dropping locations around the world when I’m browsing the Internet.  I found one of those places today: Gullfoss.

Waterfall

Borrowed from Bjorn Grotting Photography. Click the link to visit their site.

Gullfoss is the most famous waterfall in Iceland.  It is part of the Hvitá River, which receives its water from the Langjökull glacier (Iceland’s second largest glacier).  According to the waterfall’s “official” Web site, the water courses 32 meters (105 feet for those of that live in the U.S.A.) down the walls.

I performed a Google Image Search for Gullfoss and was a little disappointed with the results.  I found a couple very good, high quality photos, but that’s about it.  The rest were low-resolution and low quality.  Most of them seem to have been taken from the same perspective.  The two photos included in this post are the best (in my opinion) that I could find in the span of a few minutes.

So, I have a couple reasons for adding Gullfoss to my list of places to visit:

  1. Who doesn’t want to go to Iceland?!
  2. In the photos, the waterfall looks huge and astounding; imagine what it would look like in person!
  3. I want to take my own photos of the waterfall.
Borrowed from ExplosiveAperture.com.  Click the photo to visit their site.

Borrowed from ExplosiveAperture.com. Click the photo to visit their site.

As you can see, Gullfoss can look very different in summer versus in winter.  Ideally, I would love to visit during both times.  If I have to choose, however, I think I would like to visit in the winter.  While the beautiful colors would be missing, I think I might be able to create more striking images with the snow and ice.  What do you think?

Resources

Share your thoughts!

