REFLECTION: Tahquamenon Falls, December 2012

In December of 2012, I was home in the Upper Peninsula of Michigan for the Christmas holiday.  As much as I enjoy being in the U.P., I can only handle spending so much time at my parents’ house.  I get bored there easily and my mom and I can only be around each other for so long before we start fighting.

So, on the 30th, I decided to take a drive up to Tahquamenon Falls State Park.  I had never been there in the winter and really wanted to get some photos of it with all of the snow.  At the time, I was driving a rental car because my Jeep had been totaled.  I borrowed my dad’s F-150 and headed out.

I went arrived at the Upper Falls in the late afternoon.  I trudged through the snow (not completely dressed for the cold) with my camera equipment in tow.  I was surprised by how many people were there.  I reached the final lookout, right next to the Upper Falls and assembled my equipment.  I chose my fisheye lens for some experimentation.  This is my favorite of the shots I took that day:

IMG_0659_HDR_Watermark

I was there at just the right time of day.  The lighting was perfect.  I couldn’t be more happy with the results.  I even like it in black and white:

IMG_0659_HDR_BW_Watermark

Which do you prefer?

Share your thoughts!

