30-day Novel: Day #10

Total Word Count: 10,549

I wrote a grand total of 21 words in my novel yesterday.  Clearly this is not an amazing accomplishment.  At this point, who knows if I’ll be done by April 30th?

The entire day was a struggle for me.  I had not slept well.  The work day felt like it was never going to end.  It dragged on and on, seemingly forever.  I stopped at the veterinarian’s office to ask for advice about my cat, but the place was packed, so I didn’t bother to go inside.  When I finally got home, I was going to ride my bike, shower, and then start writing, but I didn’t.  I felt weak and somewhat shaky.  My stomach didn’t feel well.  I decided that it would be best to take it easy.

I open my Word document and re-read the last couple paragraphs I had written.  I tried to get my mind back into the story, but it wasn’t working.  I just didn’t feel well enough.  I managed to write two sentences before I gave up.

In all reality, I may not have made much progress last night anyway.  A short while later, my cat went crazy again.  She had been acting fine when I got home, but then she suddenly attacked my dog and then came after me.  I held her at bay with a spray bottle of water (thanks to D__ for giving me the idea!).  My dog was so terrified that she refused to leave the landing at the top of the basement stairs.  She was too afraid to come back into the main part of the house.

It took a little while, but I managed to get the cat outside (with food, water, and her crate) and get the dog back in the house through the front door.  By this point, I was pretty upset.  Adrenaline was coursing through me from the excitement.  I was worried about having the cat in the house after she attacked the dog, even though the dog wasn’t hurt.  D__ called to make sure I was okay and that helped calm me down.

D__ went to bed and I settled down to watch some TV.  I could hear the cat crying outside, begging to come in.  I felt guilty, so I let her in and closed her back in the basement.  She was still hissing and growling.  I went to bed, not knowing what to do about her.

Share your thoughts!

