30-day Novel: Day #6

Total Word Count: 8,008

The day is coming to an end and I’m calling it quits (no, not for good!).  I should be at 10,002 words today, but, as you can see, I’m falling a little short.  Honestly, I don’t feel very badly about it today, as I did yesterday.  I took my time today and didn’t let myself feel stressed.

I got up at 8:30 a.m.  I could’ve lay in bed longer, but I would not have slept.  I had a breakfast of brown rice and a PB&J sandwich (oh yes, the breakfast of royalty!).  I hydrated and read for a while, giving myself time to digest.  Then, I rode my bike for an hour (yes, now you see why digestion and hydration was important :)).

After riding and showering, I went to Tim Horton’s to grab a quick lunch, intending to continue on to the library.  I figured I would be able to concentrate on my writing more if I were in a public place, away from the distractions of home.  Well, it turns out that the library is closed on Sundays.  Damn!  I thought about going to a park to write in the sunshine, but it was still a bit chilly and breezy outside, so I returned home.

Sitting in my recliner in my living room, I got to work.  I typed slowly but steadily for a while.  I fell into a decent groove again.  The words filled the pages.  After some time, I went blank again.  I needed a break.

Time for grocery shopping!  I headed to Meijer and bought everything on my list (oh how I love lists).  It took just over an hour.

I chilled a Leiney’s (Summer Shandy) and put some frozen crab rangoon in the oven.  I sat down and continued writing.  I paused to eat, then began again. It wasn’t long before I realized that, again, my focus just wasn’t there.  I took another quick break to put away laundry.

Sitting back in my recliner, staring at my Word document, I just couldn’t think anymore.  It was 8 p.m.  Now I’m relaxing, not worrying too much about my daily goal.  Tomorrow is another day.  Have a good evening!

2 thoughts on “30-day Novel: Day #6

  1. TK says:

    I wish I could measure my current writing in words. Writing with old fashioned pen and paper makes that a little difficult….

    In terms of writing spaces, I recommend coffee shops. It’s not very original, but I usually write at the closest Starbucks in the mornings. It provides just enough of an atmosphere for my writing to flow without the distractions of home.

    Like

    • I don’t think my handle could take writing with a pen anymore. I’m impressed that you do it!

      I like coffee shops and cafés too, but I end up spending money and I’m on a really strict budget. Libraries can sometimes be a decent substitute for me (when they’re open). Oh well. Push forward! 🙂

      Like

Share your thoughts!

