30-day Novel: Day #1

Total Word Count: 1,810

Yesterday was the first day of my novel-writing challenge.  I decided to start this challenge after reading No Plot? No Problem!: A Low-Stress, High-Velocity Guide to Writing a Novel in 30 Days by Chris Baty.  Baty wrote this book as a kind of support for National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo) participants.  The basic idea is to write a complete rough draft of a 50,000-word novel in the span of 30 days.

NaNoWriMo takes place during the month of November every year, but, of course, one can take on the challenge at any time.  Baty suggests choosing a month with at least 30 days (sorry, February!), and preferably one with less-than-pleasant weather and a long holiday weekend.  April seemed liked a good choice for me.  It’s typically rainy, it has Easter weekend, and I didn’t have any major plans.  To my surprise, the folks at NaNoWriMo actually host an event in the month of April.  Camp NaNoWriMo provides an opportunity for writers to take the challenge outside of November and have the support of the community.  Very cool!

In order to achieve my goal of 50,000 words by the end of April 30th, I need to write a minimum of 1,667 words per day.  I am happy to report that I managed to write 1,810 words yesterday.  I’m realistic enough to understand that this likely won’t happen every day of this challenge.  In fact, Baty asserts that, during the second week of the challenge, it becomes very difficult to meet word count goals on a daily basis.  He insists that writers should take advantage of the first week high and bust out as much content as possible in the first seven days.

I’m not ready to share a synposis of my story yet (partly because even I don’t know entirely what’s going to happen), but I will share a few starting details.  As of right now, I have two main characters that we will follow throughout the story.  It is told using close third-person perspective.  One of the primary settings is Cairns in Queensland, Australia.

As I push through the month, I’ll be open to suggestions for characters, motives, and plot twists.  Feel free to chime in and give me your thoughts!

Share your thoughts!

