“It is necessary to write, that much is clear, and to write in a way quite unlike any way which I have employed before.” – Iris Murdoch (The Sea, the Sea)

Only four days left….  Holy crap.

In four days’ time, April will begin, and so I will begin writing my first novel.  Yikes.  30 days to write a rough draft of a complete novel.  I should have plenty of time to do it, but will I have the energy?  I’ve been sick and very fatigued lately.  This worries me.  When I feel like that, it’s as if my brain doesn’t want to function (which is why I’ve been light on blogging for the past month or so).  That can’t happen in April; not with a 1,667-word/day goal to achieve.

I’m starting to feel a bit intimidated by this challenge.  In fact, I haven’t even been thinking about my story or my characters.  It’s a good thing that I took notes as I came up with ideas, because I can’t remember what very many of those ideas were at this point.  What if inspiration goes on vacation once April starts?  I definitely need to review those notes before the 1st.

realization: I don’t even have names for the few characters I’ve identified.  So far, I have 5 characters that will be introduced in the story: 3 males and 2 females.

Anyone have any suggestions?

Share your thoughts!

