Misadventures in D.C….

Well yesterday afternoon/evening was quite the failure. I completely skipped all CatalystCon activities. I was feeling particularly antisocial. I stayed in my hotel room until about 4:45 p.m., waiting for my phone to completely charge and trying to feel better (I was really tired.).

I left the hotel and walked to the nearest Metro station. My phone GPS, of course, couldn’t locate exactly where I was, so I ended up taking a roundabout route to get there. When I finally arrived, I tried to purchase a SmarTrip card, only to discover that the machine would not accept debit/credit cards (despite the sign that said it did). I then fumbled to find $10 in $1 bills in my purse.

SmarTrip card in-hand, I boarded my first D.C. Metro train. My intended destination was a restaurant called Founding Farmers. My friend ___ recommended this restaurant to me. It looked a little pricey, but they use only locally-sourced ingredients and the food on the menu sounded delicious.

Again, I got a little lost, thanks to the I accuracy of my phone’s GPS. 20ish minutes of walking later, I managed to find the restaurant. No surprise, it was completely packed. The dining area required a reservation and no seats were available at the bar. Damn. At this point, it was approximately 6:30 p.m. and I hadn’t eaten since 8 a.m. I found another restaurant nearby, but, like the other, it was packed.

Frustrated and hungry, I trekked back to the Metro station to return to the vicinity of the hotel. Somehow, I missed the fact that my return trip on the train required a transfer and I ended up heading in the wrong direction. After realizing my mistake, I got on a train back to the proper transfer station, then boarded the correct train.

Upon arrival at my “home” station, I started walking toward the hotel, keeping my eyes open for an available dining location. I found such an opportunity across the street from the hotel at Bar Louie. I had wanted to eat at a local restaurant, not a chain, but oh well. I finally had easy access to a hot meal and that’s all that mattered.

Share your thoughts!

