CatalystCon Day #1 – Sex Educator Boot Camp

Let me preface this post by making it clear that I am not reviewing the workshop that I just attended.  Tristan Taormino is an excellent presenter and provided valuable information.

When I originally registered to attend CatalystCon and the Sex Educator Boot Camp (some time in December, I think), I was entertaining the idea of becoming some kind of sex educator.  Since then, I have realized that it’s probably not my thing.  While I enjoy learning as much as I can about sex and sexuality and I think it’s important to share information to expand other people’s knowledge bases, I really can’t see myself teaching about it.  While I’m no longer terrified of public speaking (as I was in my pre-college days), I don’t particularly love doing it.  Also, I don’t feel like I could center my career/life around only one topic.  (I realize that the field of sexuality is huge, but it’s still a single field).  So, this morning, I went into the Sex Educator Boot Camp knowing full well that I am not going to be a sex educator.  Nevertheless, I love learning and thought it would still be a good experience (plus, I had already paid for it).

My first observation in the workshop was the diversity of attendees.  I was born and raised in a very rural part of Michigan, where not a lot of diversity exists.  Even now, living in a metropolitan area, exposure to diversity is still rather limited.  Let’s face it–Michigan is still a fairly conservative state.

My second observation was that many of the workshop attendees are already involved in some form of sex education.  I had originally assumed that more people like me (people considering pursuing such a career path or just people interested in learning more about sex education) would be the majority in attendance.  I was wrong–oh well.

At the end of the workshop, Taormino gave a quick outline of what the Level 2 workshop covers.  If one had not pre-registered for the second workshop, he/she/they could sign up at the door.  Well…Level 2 focuses mainly on business and marketing.  It just doesn’t appeal to me.  1) I already have a Master of Business Administration degree.  2) I have entrepreneurial experience from my now-dissolved photography business.  More power to those who will benefit from Taormino’s afternoon workshop.  I hope you enjoy it! 🙂

I’ll be spending my afternoon charging my cell phone, writing this blog post (obviously), maybe trying to take a quick nap because I slept horribly last night (damn you, insomnia!), and hopefully getting out into the city for a bit (although it’s looking like I won’t have time if I want to go to the Shy/Newbie Meet Up).

Share your thoughts!

