“Finally… I’m here…” – K. Hari Kumar

That’s right–I have arrived!  After a brief delay at the airport and a quick flight, I am now safely nestled in my hotel room in Washington, D.C. (well, technically the hotel is in Arlington, VA, but that doesn’t sound as fancy, does it?).

It’s 6:24 p.m. local time (as well as at home).  What to do?  First things first–charge the cell phone.  I have no idea how my battery went from 60% to 18% in the span of 10 minutes.  Ridiculous!

I had originally planned to explore the city a little bit tonight, but now I’m reconsidering.  It’s currently 36°F (2°C for you crazy non-U.S. kids) outside.  I had intended to walk around in my explorations, but it’s a bit chilly for that, I think.  I did not come thoroughly prepared for cold weather.  I brought a hat and mittens, but no warm coat.  So, my new plan is to grab a small bite to eat in the hotel bar and figure out where the conference rooms are located.

Tomorrow is supposed to be considerably warmer (a high of 61°F/16°C).  Maybe I’ll get out after the Sex Educator Boot Camp With Tristan Taormino.  My friend ___ gave me some suggestions as to where to go in the city.  Can’t wait to check them out.  Then, of course, I’ll need to return to the hotel for the Shy/Newbie Meet Up.  I haven’t considered myself to be a “shy” person in many years, but I am definitely a newbie at CatalystCon East and I can’t help but feel intimidated by all the big names in sexual education that I’ve seen on the speaker list.  Hopefully I’ll encounter at least a couple people at the meet-up with whom I can form some kind of connection.

One thought on ““Finally… I’m here…” – K. Hari Kumar

Share your thoughts!

