“Wake up. Kick ass. Repeat.”

How much better would I feel life if I lived this particular mantra on a daily basis?

I did it today and it felt great.  My alarm started ringing at 8 a.m.  I got up, fed the dog, put her outside, and started a pot of coffee.  I took a shower, got dressed, and put on my makeup.  Then I poured a cup of coffee, ate a cup of yogurt and 2 clementines, and sat down to type out the notes I had highlighted in The Happiness Project.  At 11:20, I stopped what I was doing and went outside to warm up the Jeep.  I came back inside and continued my note-taking until 11:35.  I left for my hair appointment with _____.  After my appointment, I came home, ate a snack, poured a glass of wine, finished my notes, and wrote my book review on The Happiness Project.  I then took notes on Don’t Sweat the Small Stuff for my own personal reference.  Now, I’m obviously writing a blog post. :)  It’s only 6 p.m.  I still have plenty of time to accomplish more.  Once I finish with this, I plan to vacuum the house.  Then I intend to do some research for my next public blog post related to sex and sexuality.

I don’t have many days like this.  Yesterday, for example, I felt like I accomplished very little.  I stayed in bed until after 10 a.m.  I spent over an hour at the Costco membership desk trying to sort out my membership and associated Costco AMEX.  I then went to Meijer to do some grocery shopping for the upcoming week.  I came home, planning to write my book review, but I was just too tired.  I felt too mentally exhausted and physically drained to do anything thought-intensive.  Instead, I did some very slow, light reading and watched 9 episodes of “Mad Men” on Netflix.  I felt guilty for not writing at all yesterday, but I tried to remind myself that I had had a busy, stressful week at work and that I am still recovering from a sinus infection.  Sometimes I just need a day of rest.

Tomorrow, I need to be productive as well as make time for fun.  These are my goals:

  • Write my next sex/sexuality blog post.
  • Ride my bike.
  • Hit the heavy bag.
  • Do a thorough ab workout.
  • Wash and put away laundry.
  • Clean the bathroom.
  • Finish reading the book for my next book review.
  • Cook goulash for dinner.
  • Prepare my scuba and underwater photography equipment for Tuesday’s excursion to the pool.

In addition to these goals, I plan on going on a movie date.  If I plan to wake up at an early hour and kick ass throughout the day, I think I may accomplish everything on my list and still get to bed at a reasonable time (preferably no later than 9:30 p.m.).  Here’s hoping!

Share your thoughts!

