“Will this matter a year from now?” – Richard Carlson

I recently read and reviewed Don’t Sweat the Small Stuff…and It’s All Small Stuff by Richard Carlson.  While I didn’t think it was the most amazing book ever written, it did make me think.  How many things that stress me and make me angry are actually important?  I swear, I’m my own worst enemy when it comes to negative feelings.  Do I always need to be right?  Is the resentment I carry for certain people doing anyone any good?  Do I tell people that I appreciate them enough?  Do simple obstacles really require strong responses?

Typically when I read a book like this, I find ways that I can apply it to my life, and then proceed to forget to execute most of what I learned.  (Bad ________!)  Surprisingly, I seem to have retained some of it this time.  Today, my new editor gave me some tips on how to use AP style writing for my book reviews.  One of his tips was to ditch the Oxford comma.  Now, I happen to be a big fan of the Oxford comma, but I made a joke and let it go.  No more Oxford comma in my book reviews, thanks to the Associated Press.

oxford-comma

Another source of frustration for me today was the need to provide my “editor” with a self-portrait for my newspaper biography.  Now, I fancy myself to be a fairly decent photographer, but I SUCK at taking photos of myself.  He made several suggestions.  Most of them I didn’t like; some of them were out of the range of feasibility with my equipment, location, lighting, etc.  The more attempts I made, the more stressed I became.  I could feel myself tensing up.  After multiple attempts at getting an acceptable (to my critical eye) photo, I stopped myself.  I reminded myself that a single photo for a newspaper is not that big of a deal.  Whatever I produced would be good enough.  So I removed my SD card from my camera, opened what I had taken in PhotoShop, (Oxford comma!) and got to work.  This was the final result:

photo

Share your thoughts!

