“Above all, be the heroine of your life, not the victim.” – Nora Ephron

It’s really easy to be the victim, right? It’s easy to convince oneself that the world is out to get him/her. I’m certainly guilty of it. I can’t count how many times I have truly believed that no one cared about me and that I wasn’t meant to be happy.

What benefit does this attitude provide? Well, for one, it releases one from control of and responsibility over his/her own happiness. “No one wants me to succeed. The universe is against me. It’s just the way it is.

BULLSHIT!

That kind of thinking accomplishes absolutely NOTHING. Nothing improves while you sit and feel sorry for yourself. Real life has very little in common with fairy tales and Disney movies. Waiting around for a gallant rescuer is foolish (to put it nicely).

If you’re dissatisfied with your situation, change it. What do you want? What do you think would make you happy? Make a list. Prioritize it. I hate to use this term (because it makes me think of a creepy/gross former boss), but start with some “quick wins.” What small steps can you take in order to make an improvement? Start there and move toward bigger steps. No one is going to do it for you.

So…what things do I want?

  • I want to live somewhere that feels like home–away from the city, near water, surrounded by trees.
  • I want to feel like I am part of a community.
  • I want to be in an honest, loving relationship with a kind, smart, attractive, funny, generous man.
  • I want to have a job that makes me happy–one that I enjoy going to every say.
  • I want to be more physically fit and athletic.

Note that these items are not in order of priority–I merely listed them as they came to mind. Where do I start? Perhaps the easiest item to address would be then physical fitness. So…Monday morning I start up my 5 a.m. workouts again!

Share your thoughts!

